Steiglitz inspired

Alfred Steiglitz is one of my most favorite photographers. He brought art to photography in my eyes. The series of work that I identify with the most is his “equivalents” series of clouds. Steiglitz thought of his cloud images: “Stieglitz emphasized pure abstraction, adhering to the modern ideas of equivalence, holding that abstract forms, lines, and colors could represent corresponding inner states, emotions and ideas” (web article at american art @ phillips collection)

I have photographed clouds throughout my life creating my homage to his contribution to art and ideas exemplified in the equivelents series.

Leave a Reply

